Water Quality

The City of Little Canada is part of the Ramsey-Washington Metro Watershed District (RWMWD). The RWMWD is a special purpose governmental unit responsible for protecting the water resources of the watershed located in the eastern portion of Ramsey County and the western edge of Washington County, Minnesota.

Pond in Little Canada


RWMWD covers approximately 52 square miles that ultimately drain into the Mississippi River. The watershed includes six actual small watersheds that each drain to the: 

  • Battle Creek
  • Beaver Lake
  • Beltline Interceptor
  • Blufflands area
  • Fish Creek
  • Mississippi River
  • Phalen Chain of Lakes

There are 5 major creeks, 11 lakes and thousands of wetlands within the RWMWD.

The RWMWD also includes all or part of 10 cities in Ramsey and Washington Counties these cities include: 

  • Gem Lake
  • Landfall
  • Little Canada
  • Maplewood
  • North St. Paul
  • Oakdale
  • St. Paul
  • Vadnais Heights
  • White Bear Lake
  • Woodbury